top of page

Research Grant 

The International Geographical Union Commission on Gender and Geography allocates funds for participation in conferences, meetings, workshops, and other research activities related to the mission of the Commission.


The purpose of these funds is to support participation of new and emerging feminist scholars in conferences, workshops, research activities, and other professional development endeavors. Requests for reimbursement of lodging, meeting registration fees, subsistence, and conference travel will be considered on a competitive basis. These funds may not be used for honoraria. The selection committee will offer up to two grants of $1000 each.


To apply for this grant, please submit an application to Chair and Treasurer of the IGU Gender and Geography Commission. (See contact details below.) Include the following information in your application:

  •  Enumerate the total amount of money required to participate in the meeting, and the amount requested from the IGU Gender and Geography Commission (cost sharing is encouraged).

  • List the name, affiliation, complete address, e-mail address, and telephone number of the individual for whom support is requested.

  • Detail how the individual will participate in the designated activities, including the title of the presentation or other type of activity.

  • Explain how the individual's research activity adheres to the mission of the IGU Gender and Geography Commission and the Commission’s focal theme.

  • Specify the individual or group sponsoring the event or activity. 


Requests will be evaluated by the Steering Committee on the basis of how and to what degree the presentation or activities will enrich the person and the IGU Gender and Geography Commission. Priority will be given to new and emerging feminist scholars who demonstrate need or come from low-income countries.

Decisions will be emailed to the recipient within a month of their submission. Deadline for submission of proposals is April 15, 2023.


Applications maybe emailed to Chair Anindita Datta ( and Treasurer Ann Oberhauser (

bottom of page